Mississippi State Capitol building

Capital / River

Mississippi’s capital/river region, stretching from the modern skyline of the state’s capital to the Mississippi River, is rich in history. Jackson features a rich blend of contemporary modern architecture intermingled with the State Capitol Building (1903), Jackson City Hall (1846) and Old Capitol Museum (1840). The Barnett Reservoir, a 33,000-acre man-made lake, features swamps and small marinas. Perched on the bluffs overlooking the Mighty Mississippi, Natchez boasts over 500 antebellum structures.  These include palatial mansions with formal gardens, churches, residences and public buildings. Vicksburg also offers excellent river views and antebellum mansions, as well as a lively arts district and the 1,800-acre Vicksburg National Military Park, which features Civil War earthworks and monuments to the Union and Confederate armies. Meanwhile, the town square in Canton boasts the quintessential southern courthouse.

Local Film Contacts

Mississippi Film Office

Nina Parikh, Director
nparikh@mississippi.org

Betty Black, Office & Incentives Manager
bblack@mississippi.org

Thabi Moyo, Production & Workforce Manager
tmoyo@mississippi.org

Carey Miller, Special Projects and Marketing Manager
cmiller@mississippi.org

Woolfolk State Office Building
501 North West Street, Suite B01
Post Office Box 849
Jackson, MS 39205
Telephone: 601.359.3297
Fax: 601.359.5048

Canton Film Office

147 N. Union Street
P.O. Box 53
Canton, MS 39046
Telephone: 800.844.3369 or 601.859.1307
Fax: 601.859.0346
info@cantontourism.com

Jackson Film Liaison

Shun Hatten
308 East Pearl Street, Suite 301
Jackson, Mississippi 39201
Telephone: 800-354-7695
shatten@visitjackson.com

Natchez Film Office

Devin Heath
500 Main St., Suite 1
Natchez, MS 39120
Telephone: 866-300-0015 or 601-492-3000
dheath@visitnatchez.org

Vicksburg Film Liaison

Laura Beth Strickland
P.O. Box 110
Vicksburg, MS 39181
Telephone: 800.221.3536 or 601.636.9421
Fax: 601.636.9475
laurabeth@visitvicksburg.com