Banner14

Capitol/River

 

Mississippi’s capital/river region, stretching from the modern skyline of the state’s capital to the Mississippi River, is rich in history. Jackson features a rich blend of contemporary modern architecture intermingled with the State Capitol Building (1903), Jackson City Hall (1846), and Old Capitol Museum (1840). The Barnett Reservoir, a 33,000-acre man-made lake, features swamps and small marinas. Perched on the bluffs overlooking the Mighty Mississippi, Natchez boasts over 500 antebellum structures.  These include palatial mansions with formal gardens, churches, residences and public buildings. Vicksburg also offers excellent river views and antebellum mansions, as well as a lively arts district and the 1,800-acre Vicksburg National Military Park, which features Civil War earthworks and monuments to the Union and Confederate armies. Meanwhile, the town square in Canton boasts the quintessential southern courthouse.

Film

Capitol
Capitol3
Capitol2

Mississippi Film Office

 

Woolfolk State Office Building
501 North West Street, Suite B01
Post Office Box 849
Jackson, MS 39205
Telephone: 601.359.3297
Fax: 601.359.5048

 

 

Canton Film Office

 

Jana Padgett
147 N. Union Street
P.O. Box 53
Canton, MS 39046
Telephone: 800.844.3369 or 601.859.1307
Fax: 601.859.0346
jpadgett@cantontourism.com

 

 

Natchez Film Liaison

 

Jessica Cauthen
640 South Canal Street, Box G
Natchez, MS 39120
Telephone: 800.647.6724 or 601.446.6345
Fax: 601.442.0814
jessica@visitnatchez.org

 

 

Vicksburg Film Liaison

 
Bill Seratt
P.O. Box 110
Vicksburg, MS 39181
Telephone: 800.221.3536 or 601.636.9421
Fax: 601.636.9475
bill@vicksburgcvb.org
MISSISSIPPI FILM OFFICE
Woolfolk State Office Building
501 North West Street, 5th Floor
Jackson, MS 39201
P.O. Box 849
Jackson, MS 39205
T: 601-359-3297
F: 601-359-5048
Ward Emling
wemling@mississippi.org
Nina Parikh
nparikh@mississippi.org
Betty Black
bblack@mississippi.org
Bill Webb (Gulf Coast Office)
bwebb@mississippi.org